December 1, 2023
Israel bans entry to foreigners and extends quarantine by Omicron Variant |  Globalism

Israel bans entry to foreigners and extends quarantine by Omicron Variant | Globalism

Government Israel On Saturday (27) it announced that it will ban, for a period of two weeks, all foreigners from entering the country, in an effort to stop the spread of the omicron variant of the coronavirus (B.1.1.529).

The country has already registered a case, from a patient who traveled to Malawi, and has seven other suspects. After the contamination was identified, travelers from seven countries on the African continent were banned from entering.

A list of the dozens of countries that have become prohibited destinations and assets (read below), has been published, effective as of Monday, November 29.

This Saturday, in addition to the general blockade of foreigners and this list, it was determined that fully vaccinated Israelis who wish to return to the country must undergo isolation for 72 hours after arrival and will undergo two examinations during this period, which should show negative results. Until then, isolation was 24 hours and only one test was required.

Those who have not received all of their vaccine doses will continue to meet the current deadline of two weeks of quarantine, with the deadline reduced to one week if they have a second negative test.

The Israeli government has also banned Israelis from traveling to countries on the “red list” (see below), with a higher risk of contamination by the omicron variable. Citizens returning from these locations will have different isolation rules: they will be taken from the airport directly to a special quarantine hotel, where they will be able to leave only after the result of the first test.

If the test result is negative, they will be able to complete the second week of isolation in their homes, where they will have a new test seven days after the first. Those who test positive for Covid will stay at the hotel and their tests will be sent for genome sequencing, a test necessary to detect the virus variant.

Countries included in Israel’s red list:

  • South Africa
  • Angola
  • Boys
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • green head
  • praise
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Gambia
  • Wins
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Costa do Marvim
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Financial
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius Islands
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Reunion Islands
  • Rwanda
  • Santa Helena
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Comoros
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe