November 28, 2022

Russia bans US Treasury and Energy secretaries, defense officials and the press

U.S. Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen

(Reuters) – Russia has imposed sanctions on 61 U.S. officials, including Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen and Energy Secretary Jennifer Granholm, and senior defense and press executives, the State Department said Monday.

The ministry said it had imposed personal sanctions in retaliation for “ever-expanding US sanctions against Russian public and political figures and representatives of national institutions.”

The approved list includes directors of military-industrial companies, media sites, rating agencies and shipbuilding and aircraft companies, as well as private foreign officials involved in false reports of “malicious” cyber attacks from Russia.

Listed in:

– Catherine Toy, U.S. Trade Representative.

– Edward Bastian, CEO of Delta Airlines

– Kate Beddingfield, White House Communications Director

– White House Budget Director Shalanda Young

– James O’Brien, director of the U.S. Government’s Office of Barriers Coordination

– Jeffrey Sprecher, Director, New York Stock Exchange

– Paul Taylor, Chairman and CEO of Fitch Group