May 31, 2023
Os líderes dos países-membros do G7: Japão, Canadá, EUA, Alemanha, Reino Unido, França e Itália

Brazil on the list of countries invited to the G7 summit

Germany announced on Monday (2) that South Africa, Senegal, India and Indonesia are the four countries invited to attend the summit of the Group of Seven, a group of the world’s seven most advanced economies, which will take place in June.

Brazil used to participate in the meeting, but it has not been on the list of invited countries since 2019, when President Jair Bolsonaro took over the Planalto Palace.

The G7 consists of the United States, Germany, the United Kingdom, France, Italy, Japan and Canada. The chair of the group rotates and this year it is Germany that occupies this chair.

In 2019, when France chaired the group, Emmanuel Macron left Brazil from the meeting. The French leader chose to name Egypt, South Africa, Chile, India, Rwanda and Senegal.

In 2020, when the United States was in the presidency, it was believed that Donald Trump’s proximity to President Bolsonaro would be reason to sit at the negotiating table with world powers. But due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the summit has been suspended.

Last year, the United Kingdom was in the presidency of the Group of Seven major industrialized countries, and again Brazil did not enter the list of invited countries. Prime Minister Boris Johnson called Australia, South Korea, and India.