February 28, 2024

Was it a penalty kick for Atletico? Marcio Resende analyzes Marcos Rocha’s touch from Palmeiras – Rádio Itatiaia

One of the controversial moves in the 1-1 draw between Atletico and Palmeiras, this Sunday, in Mineirao, for the eighth round of the Brazilian Championship, was Hulk’s shot, which touched the arm of right-back Marcos Rocha, in the 16th minute of the second half. For Itatiaia’s arbitration commentator Marcio Resende de Freitas, there was no penalty.

After the Hulk’s kick, the ball deflected off the foot of defender Gustavo Gómez and hit Marcos Rocha’s arm.

“In Marcos Rocha’s movement, the blow was so intense that it deflected off Gomez’s boot, deflected off his (Rocha’s) body and hit his arm. When there is a deflection, the protocol is different. There was no penalty kick,” explained Marcio Resende de Freitas, former FIFA referee.

Atletico’s next match will be on Wednesday, at 9:30 pm, against Corinthians, in Sao Paulo, in the second round of the Round of 16 of the Brazilian Cup. In the first leg, in Belo Horizonte, Gallo won 2-0.

For the Brazilian championship, Atlético will return to the field on Saturday, 6:30 pm, in the Parque do Sabella, in Uberlandia, against rival Cruzeiro.


Join the Itatiaia community on Whatsapp and receive the main news of the day directly on your cell phone.
Click here and register.