A novelty related to WhatsApp has appeared in recent days, related to hiding text messages. Users are already accustomed to single view photos and videos and even the feature that deletes messages sent in the chat, but the newness is a plus in these features.
The tool is still in the testing phase and it is not known when it will be available to all messenger users. In addition to this novelty, the platform is testing the ability to block screenshots of single-view messages, thus increasing user privacy and security.
Curious to know how the two features work? Let’s explain everything that the specialized site WABetaInfo has discovered about the new WhatsApp. To use both tools, the app must be updated to the latest version available on the Google Play Store and App Store.
How do text messages disappear?
Currently, you can only send single-view photos and videos. In this option, the person receiving the message can only see the content after they click to open it, and when they do, the content disappears after the message is closed. Expanding this to text messaging on Android is currently being tested.
The beta version has a new special button located next to the conversation bar. If you look closely, you can see a padlock icon inside the button, which indicates individual display messages. The function will work like this, when one view message is sent, when the other user reads it, the content will disappear from the conversation and can’t be accessed again.
The feature avoids the need to “delete for everyone” the message containing private information and also prevents text forwarding and copying. Since the functionality is still under development, the design and interface may change until it is officially launched for all users of the messenger.
It is not yet known if the single display of a text message will be the same as the current media functionality, taking up the entire screen, or just the text that appears in a conversation bubble, as is currently the case. In any case, the resource is important for people who want to share confidential information, but do not want the other user to save the content on the device.
The ability to block screenshots in single-view photos and videos is only available to Android Beta users, as the tool is also in the testing phase. The person who submitted the content will not be notified of the other user’s attempt to print.
When you try to capture, a notification will appear on the screen saying that taking screenshots is not allowed due to the messenger’s security policies. It also won’t be possible to use third party apps to try to circumvent WhatsApp’s rules. No release date yet.
“Musicaholic. Thinker. Extreme travel trailblazer. Communicator. Total creator. Twitter enthusiast.”